4m 57sLenght

US Presidential Election Results, from George Washington's unanimous selection in 1789 to Barack Obama's handy victory over John McCain in 2008. **Frequently Asked Questions** 1. Where are the Democratic-Republicans? "Democratic-Republican" is an anachronistic term, used today to differentiate the early "party," if you can call it that, founded by Jefferson and Madison, from the current Republican Party, founded in the 1850s. In the 1790s and 1800s, the Democratic-Republicans were more commonly called Republicans, and to a lesser extent Democrats. To be accurate, I have chosen to call them Republicans in this video. I have colored them Green, to distinguish from today's Republican Party, which is colored red. 2. Isn't Andrew Jackson a Democrat? Yes! Andrew Jackson is the first Democratic president. He helped create the modern-day Demoratic Party. But this was only when John Quincy Adams became president in 1824-25, despite losing the popular vote. The furor this caused throughout the country, particularly among Jacksonian farmers, was cleverly cultivated for four years until Jackson ran against Adams again in 1828. By then, the Democratic Party had been formed to channel that passion into electing Jackson to the presidency. However, in 1824, during the end of the Era of Good Feelings, everyone was technically a Democratic-Republican, which I have labeled Republican, per the aforementioned point. 3. Where are John Tyler, Millard Fillmore, Andrew Johnson, and Chester Arthur? These men were never elected to the presidency. They were only elected as Vice Presidents. This is a video of election results, not presidential succession. Thus, they only appear whenever they're on a national ballot. I'm not including 1841, 1850, 1865, and 1881, as transition years, since these are about election results. There are two typos, not mentioned yet. One is the Era of Good Feelings, of which I have carelessly left off the "s" at the end. And also Strom Thurmond is misspelled, again leaving out the "d" at the end. These will be corrected in an updated 2013 version, after the next election is completed.